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Before Reading Further:

This brochure only pertains to the

WEDLLR

Maryland Wage and Hour Law, which is Maryland Division of Labor and Industry

different from the Federal Fair Labor

Standards Act.

For more information on the

Employment Standards Service

requirements of the Fair Labor Standards

Act please visit: www.dol gov.

1100 N. Eutaw St., Room 605
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-767-2357
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Helping agricultural employers
know which employees are exempt

Learn more about Maryland’s Wage and Hour from minimum wage and overtime
Law by logging onto: requirements under Maryland law.

www.dllr. maryland.gov/labor/wages/
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Employees are exempt from both
minimum wage and over—time

requirements if:

¢ Employed by an employer who is
engaged in canning, freezing,
packing, or first processing of
perishable or seasonal fresh fruits,
vegetables, or horticultural

commodities, poultry, or seafood;

e employed in agriculture if the
employer used no more than 500
agricultural-worker days per quarter
during the preceding year. An
agricultural worker day is any day
that an employee works at least one

1y hour;

e engaged principally in the range

production of livestock; or

Exemptions (Continued):

employed as a hand-harvest laborer and is
paid on a piece-rate basis in an operation
that has been and is customarily recognized
as having been paid on that basis if the
following applies:

A. The individual commutes daily from
their permanent residence to the farm
where he or she is employed and if during
the preceding calendar year, was employed

in agriculture less than thirteen 13 weeks.

OR

B. The individual is under the age of 17, is
employed on the same farm as a parent or
guardian, and is paid at the same rate as an
employee who is at least 17 years old on the
same farm. (Reminder: teen workers must

have a minor work permit to work in

Maryland.

Other employees are entitled to over—

time after sixty (60) hours per week if:

e Employee is engaged in agriculture and
exempt from the overtime provisions
of the federal Act.

Note: Agriculture means work
performed by a farmer or on a farm as
incidental to or in conjunction with

farming operations.

Additional Information:

For additional information about the
Maryland Wage and Hour Law exemptions
for agricultural workers, please contact the
Employment Standards Unit of the Divi-
sion of Labor and Industry under the Mary-
land Department of Labor, Licensing and
Regulation. Our contact information can

be found on the back of this brochure.




