State offices and all DLLR physical locations will be closed to the public December 24 & December 25, 2014. However, Unemployment Insurance telephone and Web operations WILL be available on Wednesday, December 24.

DLLR's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) - Maryland Elevator Safety Review Board

 
  1. Where can I obtain more information and apply for an elevator mechanic, elevator contractor, accessibility lift mechanic or renovator license?
  2. What are the licensing fees to become an elevator mechanic, elevator contractor, accessibility lift mechanic  or renovator?
  3. What are the licensing fees to obtain a temporary elevator mechanic or emergency elevator mechanic license?
  4. How long is an elevator mechanic, elevator contractor or renovator license valid?
  5. Will I be notified about my renewal?
  6. What will happen if I fail to renew my license?
  7. What type of supporting documentation will O&P require as proof to verify my education and work experience as an elevator mechanic, elevator contractor or renovator?
  8. What type of supporting documentation will O&P require as proof to verify my education and work experience as an elevator renovator mechanic or elevator renovator contractor?
  9. Does the Board license accessibility lift mechanics and what are the requirements to qualify for licensure?
  10. Is the grandfathering provision still in effect?
  11. Are there any penalties if a violation has been cited for an individual or entity working without a license?
  12. In general, what are the criminal penalties that may apply if a violation has been cited against my license?
  13. If I am found guilty of a violation, can I request a hearing prior to the Board taking action against my license?
  14. If I disagree with the Board's final decision, do I have any appeal rights?
  15. Does Maryland have reciprocal agreements with other states?
  16. Does the Board conduct elevator inspections?
  17. Does an applicant pay a reinstatement fee, if he has failed to renew his license within two years?
  18. Have continuing professional competency (CPC) requirements for renewing a license been adopted by the Board?

1. Where can I obtain more information and apply for an elevator mechanic, elevator contractor, accessibility lift mechanic or renovator license?
You can visit the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation website. Go to Boards and Commissions, click on the Elevator Safety Review Board link at the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing webpage or you may visit the Baltimore office. Download and complete application. Return your application to the Baltimore Office in-person or by mail, including your non-refundable application fee to:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Elevator Safety Review Board
500 N. Calvert Street, Suite 302
Baltimore, MD 21202

Please make your check or money order payable to: Elevator Safety Review Board Fund.

2. What are the licensing fees to become an elevator mechanic, elevator contractor, accessibility lift mechanic or renovator?
There is a $25 non-refundable application fee for each license. For an elevator mechanic or elevator renovator mechanic license, the cost is $175, 2-Year initial fee and $200, renewal fee. For an elevator contractor or elevator renovator contractor license, the cost is $275, 2-Year initial fee and $300, renewal fee. For an accessibility lift mechanic, there is a non-refundable application fee of $25, a 2-Year initial license is $125, and a 2-Year Renewal is $150

3. What are the licensing fees to obtain a temporary elevator mechanic or emergency elevator mechanic license?
For a temporary elevator mechanic, the cost is $25, 30-day initial fee and $10, 30-day renewal fee for each license issued. There is no fee to obtain an emergency elevator mechanic license.

4. How long is an elevator mechanic, elevator contractor or renovator license valid?
A certificate and a license will be issued when all application criteria have been met. Licenses for elevator mechanics, elevator contractors and renovators are valid for two (2) years.

5. Will I be notified about my renewal?
Yes, a renewal application will be sent to you approximately 30 days prior to your license expiration date. It is your responsibility to complete the renewal application and submit it to the Baltimore office. You will be invoiced for the license fee. Upon receipt of your payment, you will receive your renewed license. If you have any updates to submit, please notify the Board of any changes to your address or employment status for our records to be kept up-to-date.

6. What will happen if I fail to renew my license?
If you fail to renew your license, it will expire. You will be notified by Board that your license has expired. If you choose to renew after the expiration date you will be charged an additional fee to renew your license. If the office is notified that you do not wish to renew, your license will be withdrawn from active status.

7. What type of supporting documentation will O&P require proof to verify my education and work experience as an elevator mechanic, elevator contractor or renovator?
Elevator mechanic: An applicant for an elevator mechanic license shall:

  1. have an acceptable combination of documented experience and education credits, with at least three (3) years of recent and active work experience in the elevator industry, in construction, maintenance, and service/repair as verified by current and previous employers;
    and pass a written exam administered by the Board on the Safety Code; or
  2. have completed at least 3 years of recent and active work experience in the elevator industry, in construction, maintenance, and service repair, as verified by a current and previous employers; and
    have certificate of completion of the mechanic nationally recognized training program for the elevator industry such as the National Elevator Industry Educational Program (NEIEP) or its equivalent; or
  3. have a certificate of completion of an apprenticeship program for elevator mechanics, with the standards substantially equal to those of this section and registered with the Bureau of Apprenticeship Training, U.S. Department of Labor, or a State apprenticeship council.

Elevator contractor: An applicant for an elevator contractor license shall have at least five (5) years of work experience in the elevator industry in construction, maintenance, service, or repair.

8. What type of supporting documentation will O&P require proof to verify my education and work experience as an elevator renovator mechanic or elevator renovator contractor?
Elevator Renovator Mechanic: An applicant for an elevator renovator mechanic shall:

A. An applicant who applies for an elevator renovator mechanic's license on or before January 1, 2013, shall demonstrate to the Board a minimum of three years of experience engaged in elevator renovation acceptable to the Board.
B. An applicant who applies for an elevator renovator mechanic's license after January 1, 2013 shall:
(1) demonstrate to the Board an acceptable combination of experience and education; and (2) pass an exam approved by the Board.

Elevator Renovator Contractor: An applicant for an elevator renovator contractor shall:

  1. An applicant who applies for an elevator renovator contractor's license on or before January 1, 2013 shall demonstrate to the Board a minimum of three years' experience in the business of providing elevator renovator services.
  2. An applicant, who applies for an elevator renovator contractor's license pursuant to (A), shall have until January 1, 2013 to have at least one of its employees or responsible management personnel pass an exam approved by the Board.
  3. An applicant who applies for an elevator renovator contractor's license after January 1, 2013, shall:
      1. (1) demonstrate to the Board an acceptable combination of experience and education; and
      2. (2) pass an exam approved by the Board.

9. Does the Board license accessibility lift mechanics and what are the requirements to qualify for licensure?
Yes. Effective January 1, 2013, the Board shall adopt regulations, including education and experience requirements, to certify accessibility lift mechanic specialists to erect, construct, wire, alter, replace, maintain, repair, dismantle or service private residential elevators.

Accessibility Lift Mechanic: An applicant for an accessibility lift mechanic shall:

  (I) (1) have an acceptable combination of documented experience and education credits, with at least 3 years of recent and active experience in the accessibility lift industry, in construction, maintenance and service or repair, as verified by current and previous employers; or

    (2) Pass a written examination administered by the Board on the safety code; or

  (II) (1) have an acceptable combination of documented experience and education credits, with at least 3 years of recent and active experience in the accessibility lift industry, in construction, maintenance and service or repair, as verified by current and previous employers and

    (2) have a certificate from an organization providing an education program for the accessibility industry, such as the certified accessibility technician program or an equivalent program or

  (III) have a certificate of completion of an apprenticeship program for accessibility mechanics that has standards substantially equivalent and registered with the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training of the U.S. Department of Labor or a state Apprenticeship Council.

   (2) the Board may issue a conditional license until January 1, 2017, to a candidate actively completing the educational requirements as described in paragraph (1) (II) 2.

10. Is the grandfathering provision still in effect?
No. The grandfathering provision expired on September 30, 2002. Under the current law, applicants must take an examination to become eligible for licensure with the Board.

11. Are there any penalties if a violation has been cited for an individual or entity working without a license?
Yes. Any person, firm or company working without a license may be cited for a violation subject to subsection (a) hearing provisions of § 12-838 of this subtitle, the Board may deny a license to an applicant, refuse to renew a license, reprimand a licensee, suspend or revoke a license, or impose a civil penalty not exceeding $1,000 if the Board finds that the applicant or licensee:

  1. fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a license;
  2. fails to notify the Board or the owner or lessee of an elevator or related mechanism of any condition not in compliance with Part II of this subtitle;
  3. violates this subtitle;
  4. transfers the authority granted by a license to another person;
  5. installs, repairs, or maintains an elevator or assists in the installation, repair, or maintenance of an elevator in a negligent or careless manner; or 
  6. willfully or deliberately disregards and violates a building code, electrical code, or construction law of the State or a county or municipal corporation of the State.

The Board shall consider:

  1. the gravity of the violation;
  2. the good faith of the violator;
  3. the number and gravity of previous violations by the same violator;
  4. the harm caused to the complainant, the public, and the elevator mechanic profession;
  5. the assets of the violator; and 
  6. any other factors that the Board considers relevant.

An individual may not perform or assist, attempt to assist or offer to assist in performing elevator installation, repair, or maintenance work in the State of Maryland unless licensed by the Board. Likewise, an elevator contractor may not employ an elevator mechanic unless the elevator mechanic is licensed by the Board.

12. In general, what are the criminal penalties that may apply if a violation has been cited against my license?
Any person convicted of a misdemeanor andis subject to imprisonment not exceeding 6 months or a fine not exceeding $100 for each day that the violation continues or both. Likewise, any person who knowingly and willfully is convicted of a misdemeanor and is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 6 months or a fine not exceeding $5,000 or both.

13. If I am found guilty of a criminal violation, can I request a hearing prior to the Board taking action against my license?
Yes. The Board shall give any person against whom the action is contemplated an opportunity for a hearing before the Board.

14. If I disagree with Board's final decision, do I have any appeal rights?
Yes. Any person aggrieved by a final decision of the Board in a contested case, as defined in § 10-2020 of the State Government Article, may file an appeal as allowed in §§ 10-222 and 10-223 of the State Government Article.

15. Does Maryland have reciprocal agreements with other states?
No. Maryland does not have any reciprocal agreements with other states at this time.

16. Does the Board conduct elevator inspections?
No. The Board only licenses and regulates elevator mechanics, elevator contractors, renovators, temporary and emergency elevator mechanic and accessibility left mechanic licensees. If you require an elevator Inspection, please contact the Division of Labor and Industry, Elevator and Escalator Safety Unit at 410-767-2339 or call for an emergency at 410-767-2990. Please visit their website for more information.

17. Does an applicant pay a reinstatement fee, if he has failed to renew his license within two years?
Yes, an applicant will be required to pay a reinstatement fee of $25, if the applicant fails to renew a license within two years. However, if a license is being reinstated more than two years after the license has expired, an applicant may be required to apply for a license in the same manner as an original license at the discretion of the Board.

18. Has continuing professional competency (CPC) requirements for renewing a license been adopted by the Board?
Yes. Effective April 28, 2014, CPC requirements are required for all licensees. The following phase-in provisions apply to the respective license renewal dates: a) if a license expires before July 1, 2014, a licensee is not required to fulfill CPC requirements; b) if a license expires on or after July 1, 2014, a licensee is required to fulfill CPC requirements and c) the Board may consider, for the purpose of compliance with the CPC requirements, only CPC units earned on or after January 1, 2014.