The DLLR website will be unavailable from about 8:00 AM ET until about 12:00 PM ET on Saturday, October 4, 2014. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your patience.

DLLR News

 

Unlicensed Home Improvement Contractor Ordered to Pay $65,000 and Spend 30 Days in Jail

 

Montgomery County Contractor Pleads Guilty to Working without License

BALTIMORE (November 25, 2008) – Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation Secretary Thomas E. Perez today applauded the work of the Maryland Home Improvement Commission, which helped secure $65,000 in restitution for a Hyattsville couple who were taken advantage of by an unlicensed contractor. On November 17, 2008, the Honorable Maureen M. Lamasney of the Circuit Court for Prince George’s County ordered Edgar Obdeli Ochoa, of Gaithersburg, to pay restitution to homeowners Norma and Jose Villegas.

“This case illustrates our efforts to aggressively pursue unlicensed contractors who violate the law and take advantage of honest homeowners,” Secretary Perez said. “The Home Improvement Commission works hard to ensure contractors abide by the law, and we are committed to cracking down on those who don’t.”

The Villegas hired Ochoa to construct an addition onto their home in November 2006. Over the next four months, the Villegas paid Ochoa $100,000 in 3 installments while he worked on their home. In June 2007, after the job remained unfinished, the Villegas learned that Mr. Ochoa did not possess a home improvement contractor’s license.

“This sentence sends a strong message that the State’s Attorney’s and the Maryland Home Improvement Commission take these crimes by unlicensed contractors very seriously,” MHIC Executive Director Steve Smitson said. “I applaud the efforts of investigator Renee Crawley, who handled this case, and all of the Commission staff for their work to deter unscrupulous contractors from taking advantage of homeowners.”

Each year, MHIC investigates approximately 3,000 complaints against licensed and unlicensed contractors. In the last fiscal year, MHIC recovered close to $2.5 million for homeowners who were cheated by unlicensed contractors. Acting as a contractor, subcontractor, or selling a home improvement without a license is a misdemeanor and, on conviction, is subject to a fine up to $1,000 or imprisonment up to 30 days, or both. Each subsequent conviction is subject to a fine up to $5,000 or imprisonment up to 2 years, or both.

The Maryland Home Improvement Law requires each contractor, subcontractor and salesperson to possess a home improvement license. To inquire about the licensing status of any individual or company, a homeowner may call MHIC at 410-230-6309 or 1-888-218-5925 or visit the webpage.

Contratista sin licencia de mejoramientos de hogar por orden judicial pagara $65,000 y pasara 30 días en la cárcel

Contratista del Condado de Montgomery se Declara Culpable por Trabajar sin Licencia de Contratista

BALTIMORE (25 de Noviembre 2008) - El Secretario del Departamento de Trabajo, Licencia y Regulación, Thomas E. Perez hoy aplaudió el trabajo de la Comisión de Mejoramientos de Hogar de Maryland, (Maryland Home Improvement Commission or MHIC) quienes aseguraron $65.000 en restitución para una pareja de Hyattsville que fueron aprovechadas por un contratista sin licencia. El 17 de noviembre 2008 Maureen M. Lamasney, la Honorable del Tribunal Superior para el Condado de Prince George's, ordeno que Edgar Obdeli Ochoa de Gaithersburg pagara restitución a dueños de casa Norma y José Villegas.

"Este caso ilustra nuestros esfuerzos de perseguir agresivamente a contratistas sin licencia que violan la ley y se aprovechan de los propietarios honestos," Secretario Perez dijo. "La Comisión de Mejoramientos de Hogar trabaja duro para asegurar que contratistas respeten la ley, nosotros estamos cometidos a parar los que no obedecen la ley".

Los Villegas emplearon Ochoa para construir una adición en su casa en noviembre del 2006. A través de 4 meses los Villegas le pagaron a Ochoa $100,000 en tres pagos mientras el trabajaba en la casa de ellos. En junio del 2007, después que el trabajo quedo sin completar los Villegas se dieron cuenta que el Señor Ochoa no tenía una licencia de contratista para mejoramientos de hogar.

"Este juicio envia un mensaje fuerte que el Abogado Estatal y la Comisión de Mejoramientos de Hogar de Maryland toman estos crímenes hecho por contratistas sin licencia muy en serio," dice el Director Ejecutivo de MHIC. "Le ofrezco un aplauso a los esfuerzos de la investigadora Renee Crawley, quien trabajó este caso, y por el trabajo que hace todo el equipo de la Comisión para impedir contratistas poco escrupulosos en tomar ventaja de los dueños de casa."

Cada año, MHIC investiga aproximadamente 3.000 quejas contra contratistas con licencia y sin licencia. En el último año fiscal, MHIC recupero cerca de $2.5 millones para dueños de casa que fueron engañados por contratistas sin licencia. Actuar como contratista, subcontratista, o vender un mejoramiento de hogar sin una licencia es un delito de menor cuantía, y si se encuentra culpable, puede ser cobrado una multa hasta $1.000 o servir hasta 30 días en la cárcel, o sufrir las dos consecuencias. Para cada convicción subsiguiente, pueden ser obligado pagar una multa hasta $5.000 o servir hasta 2 años en la cárcel, o sufrir las dos consecuencias.

La Ley de Mejoramientos de Hogar de Maryland requiere que cada contratista, subcontratista, y vendedor poseen una licencia de mejoramientos de hogar. Para informarse sobre el estatus de licencia de un individuo o compañía, un dueño de casa puede llamar MHIC al 410-230-6309 o 1-888-218-5925 o visitar nuestro sitio de web.

Communications and Media Relations Contact Information

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation Press Release