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CONSENT ORDER

This matter comes before the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and
Regulations (“Department”) as a result of complaints filed by the Montgomery County Police
Department. Upon a review of the complaint, the Department has determined that
administrative charges against Joshua C. Canada, dba Goldrush MD, Incorporated (the
“Respondent”), be filed and an administrative hearing should be held. In an effort to resolve
this matter without a formal hearing, the Respondent and the Department have agreed to enter
into this Consent Order as the final settlement of this matter.

THE PARTIES AGREE AND STIPULATE:

1. At all times relevant to the matters set forth this Consent Order, the Department
had jurisdiction over the subject matter and the Respondent.

2. The Respondent obtained a license as a secondhand precious metal object dealer
dba 7101 Democracy Boulevard, Bethesda, Maryland 20817 on September 1, 2009.

3. OnJanuary 13, 2010 members of the Montgomery County Police Department
conducted an inspection of the Respondent’s place of business to determine the Respondent’s
compliance with the Maryland Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and Pawnbrokers
Act., Title 12, Business Regulation Article.

4. The inspection revealed that the Respondent failed to maintain secondhand
precious metal objects obtained from the following transactions for 18 days: Transaction
Nos.1210877, 1210879, 1210880, 1210883, 1210884, and 1210885.
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5. The inspection revealed that the Respondent failed to display his license at the
business location.

6. The inspection also determined that the Respondent’s scale that was used to weight
secondhand precious metal objects did not have the certification sticker of the Department of

Agriculture.

7. An inspection conducted by members of the Montgomery County Police
Department on January 18, 2010 revealed that the Respondent did not maintain transaction
records at the Respondent’s place of business nor in the State of Maryland.

8. The inspection conducted on January 14, 2010 revealed that the Respondent failed
to completely and accurately describe precious metal objects contained in the following

transactions:

(a) Transaction No. 1210894, dated December 28, 2009,
(b) Transaction No. 1210970, dated January 9, 2010,
(¢) Transaction No. 1210973, dated January 9.2010,
(d) Transaction No. 121002, dated January 13, 2010,

9. The Respondent or the Respondent’s employees knew or should have known of
the requirements for the display of the secondhand precious metal object dealer and
pawnbrokers license at the Respondent’s place of business; the requirements for the scales
used in precious metal object transactions to be registered by the Department of Agriculture,
including the display of the Department of Agriculture’s certification sticker; the
responsibility to hold items acquired for 18 days from the date of acquisition; maintain
transaction records at the Respondent’s place of business; and for the accurate and complete
description of items acquired on daily transaction reports.

10. Based on the aforementioned facts, the Respondent acknowledges that he has
violated Business Regulation Article §§12-301 (a), 12-302 (a) (3), 12-303, 12-305 (a) (1) -
(3) and 12-306 (a), Annotated Code of Maryland; and Code of Maryland Regulations
COMAR 09.02.02 A.-C., which state:

§ 12-301. Required records.

(a) Records of dealers.- Each dealer shall make a
written record, on a form provided by the Secretary,
of each business transaction that involves the
acquisition of a secondhand precious metal object
when the transaction is made.

§12-302. Contents of Records

(a) In addition to any other information required
by the Secretary, the records of a dealer shall
include. ..
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3) a description of the precious metal object,
including:

(i) its approximate metallic composition;
(ii) any jewels, stones, or glass parts;

(iii) any mark, number, word, or other identification
on the precious metal object;

(iv) its weight, if payment is based on weight;

(v) a statement whether it appears to have been
altered by any means, including:

1. obscuring a serial number or identifying feature;
2. melting; or
3. recutting a gem; and

(vi) the amount paid or other consideration...

§ 12-303. Retention of records.

Unless otherwise authorized by the Secretary, a
dealer shall keep the records required by this
subtitle, at a location within the State, for 3 years
after the date of the transaction.

§ 12-305. Holding period for precious metal
objects.

(a) Duration - In general.'-

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a
dealer who acquires a precious metal object shall
keep it in the county where the dealer holds a
license from the time of acquisition until at least 18
days after submitting a copy of a record of its
acquisition under § 12-304 of this subtitle.

(2) A dealer who acquires a precious metal object
at an event which takes place at a location other
than the dealer's fixed business address shall place
the object and a record of its acquisition at a
location in accordance with subsection (d) (1) or (2)
of this section by the next business day after
acquiring the object.

(3) In partial compliance with the 18-day holding
requirement under this subsection, a dealer may
maintain an object and the record of its acquisition
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at a location other than the dealer's fixed business
address, if the local law enforcement unit in the
jurisdiction where the item was acquired provides
written approval.

§ 12-306. Inspection of records amd precious
metal objects.

(a) In general. - A dealer shall allow an authorized
law enforcement officer or agent, on request, to
enter the place of business or storage premises of
the dealer during business hours to inspect a record
required to be maintained under this title or precious
metal object as part of a stolen property
investigation or an investigation of a violation of
this title.

09.25.02.02 Registration Required.

A. A licensed dealer shall register with the
Department of Agriculture any weights and
measures which are used in buying from, selling to,
or trading commercially with the public, any
secondhand precious metal object.

B. Registration with the Department of Agriculture
shall be in accordance with Agriculture Article, 11-
204.1----- 11-204.7, Annotated Code of Maryland.

C. A licensed dealer shall display the registration
conspicuously in the place of business of the
licensee.

11. Based on the aforementioned violations, the Respondent agrees to pay to the
Department a civil penalty of $1,250.00 upon the Respondent’s execution of this Consent

Order.

12. The Respondent further agrees that he shall abide by the provisions of the
Maryland Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and Pawnbrokers Act, § 12-101 et. seq.
and COMAR 09.25.01, et. seq.

13. The Respondent, by entering into this Consent Order, expressly waives the right
to have the pending allegations by the Department reduced to written charges, the right to an
administrative hearing on the charges and the making of Findings of Fact and Conclusions of
Law, and any all further proceeding before the Department to which the Respondent may be
entitled to in this matter, and any rights to appeal from this Order.

14. The Respondent enters into this Consent Order freely, knowingly and voluntarily.
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E ED ON THESE STIPULATIONS, IT IS, THIS 'j,;g% DAY OF
N i | 2010, BY THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING

AND REGULATION:

ORDERED that the Respondent has violated Business Regulation Article §§12-301
(a), 12-302 (a) (3), 12-303, 12-305 (a) (1) — (3) and 12-306 (a), Annctate Code of Maryland;
and Code of Maryland Regulations COMAR 09.02.02 A.-C., which state:

ORDERED that the Respondent is, hereby, reprimanded;

ORDERED that the Respondent be assessed a civil penalty of $1,250.00 for the
violations, which amount is payable to the Department upon the Respondent’s execution of
this Consent Order and Settlement Agreement, and it is further

ORDERED that the Department’s records and publications reflect the violations and
the civil penalty of $1,250.00 imposed on the Respondent.
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