
 

Maryland’s Foreclosed Property Registry 

Background 

Legislation enacted during 2012 legislative session as a result of the Maryland Foreclosure Task Force recommendation 

to create a centralized registry which would allow government officials to better locate parties about the condition of 

foreclosed properties during the “limbo” period between a foreclosure auction and the ultimate recordation of the 

property deed.   

Maryland’s Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation is responsible for the creation and implementation of the 

registry.   

Process-Purchasers 

Purchasers are required to register the property within 30 days of the foreclosure auction.  Several data points are 

gathered including the name, address and telephone number of the purchaser.  There is a $50 fee for an on-time 

registration and $100 fee for a late registration.  The purchaser is also required to complete a final registration within 30 

days of the deed being recorded.  They will have to provide, among other things, the record owner contact information.  

There is no fee for the final registration. 

Local Jurisdictions 

All counties or municipal corporations, their agencies and representatives have access to the data specific to their 

county.   

To register:  Visit the site and register as an export user.  Once you register, OCFR will approve your request and assign 

your county.  You should get an email indicating that your request has been approved in 24-48 hours.   

Downloading Data:  Once you have logged in using your username and password you will be able to down load data to 

an excel spreadsheet.  You can do this by selecting a date range.  There will be additional searches available soon.   

Enforcement 

Local jurisdictions may enact a law that imposes a civil penalty for failure to register a property in an amount not to 

exceed $1,000. 

Local jurisdictions, when taking action related to a residential property on the Registry can collect the cost associated 

with the action as a charge on the property tax bill when proper notice is given.   

 

Accessible at:  https://www.dllr.state.md.us/ForeclosureRegistry/web/content/Home.aspx 

-OR- 

www.dllr.state.md.us and click on Financial Regulation.  The link for the Foreclosed Property 

is in the top right corner. 
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