AMUSEMENT RIDE SAFETY ADVISORY BOARD MEETING

Thursday, December 12, 2024 | 10:00 a.m. Mt. Airy Library | Small Meeting Room 705 Ridge Avenue Mount Airy, MD 21771

MINUTES

Board Members Present:

Glenn Fishack, Chair Roy Shaw Karen Nicklas Victor Isailovic Samantha La Mell Steven Rothenberg Mandy Remmell

DLI Staff Present:

Commissioner Devki Virk
David Dearborn, Program Manager
Sarah Harlan, Assistant Attorney General
Robbie Finecey, Chief Inspector
Chad George, Amusement Ride Inspector
Pamela Shiflett, Administrative Officer
Tiffany R. Jones, Board Coordinator

Members Not Present:

Gordon Trimper Steven Pastusak

Members of the Public:

Chandler Fishack, Smithburg Tractor Society

CALL TO ORDER:

Board Chair Glenn Fishack, Sr. called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

COMMENTS REGARDING SUMMER 2024 INFLATABLE INCIDENT:

Chair Fishak recognized Commissioner Virk who took a moment to acknowledge the tragic incident involving an inflatable attraction that occurred in Waldorf on August 2, 2024 and discussed the steps the Safety Unit has taken since then including re-deployment of Safety Inspection Unit staff, a re-emphasis on the importance of strict adherence to standards, and the importance of educating the owners and the operators of amusement attractions. She asked the Board to re-examine the standards and consider what, if any, changes need to be made to increase inflatable safety.

Motion#1:

A motion was put forth by Karen Nicklas to form a subcommittee to examine and propose modifications to the current inflatable regulations. Steve Rothenberg seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

A subcommittee of the following board members was created; Steve Rothenberg, Samantha La Mell, Mandy Remell, and Victor Isailovic.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Karen Nicklas made a motion to approve the minutes without changes. The motion was seconded by Roy Shaw. The motion passed unanimously.

PROGRAM UPDATE:

Staff Levels: Rob Finecey provided a program update. He advised that there are a total of eight full-time inspectors and assistance is provided by elevator, railroad, and boiler inspectors to complete inspections. He indicated that all inspectors will be attending the annual certificate training with NAARSO in January of 2025. A number of inspectors will sit for NAARSO certification.

Overview of inspections, inspectors, complaint, and operations of 2024 season:

AMUSEMENT ATTRACTION INSPECTIONS CY2024

Inspector	Total	Acciden t	Assist	Complain t	Consul t	Inciden t	Inspection	Prel	Reins p	Strip Down	Trainin g
Chad Georg	384	4	10	1		2	303	56	5	3	
Christopher Tout	817	1	80		1		517	196	3	19	
Christopher Wingo	17						17				
Garreth Carey	1154		122				844	154	21	13	
Gordon Ridgley	640		16				553	59	2	10	
Kevin Finnegan	736		15		1		579	127	4	10	
Larry Joyner	24						24				
Lawrence Logan	15						15				
Lionel van Dommelen	2						2				
Peter Yeagy	1122	1	116			1	710	266	12	16	
Rajaee Butler	256						249	4			3
Robbie Finecey	11						9	2			
Travis Anderson	871		175				503	174		19	
								103			
Totals:	6049	6	534	1	2	3	4325	8	47	90	3

REGULATION UPDATE:

Commissioner Virk advised that the trampoline regulations recommended and adopted by the Board have been submitted for publication. Those regulations will then be reviewed by the Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (AELR) for a 30-day review period. The trampoline regulations should be finalized before the start of the season in April.

AMUSEMENT RIDE DATA REPORTING:

There was some discussion about how the Safety Inspection Unit reports incident and accident data. Karen Nicklas queried whether it would make sense to separate the

incident and accident reports into mechanical vs. non-mechanical attractions. Commissioner Virk advised that the Unit would look further into the issue.

MARYLAND RIDER RESPONSIBILITY BILL:

A question arose about a rider responsibility bill. Sarah Harlan reminded the Board that its authority is limited to regulating the owners of amusement attractions.

OTHER BUSINESS:

There was no new business to discuss.

ADJOURNMENT:

Roy Shaw made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Karen Nicklas. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 10:43 a.m.