Motor vehicles are one of the most common types of consumer
goods repossessed. A creditor may repossess your vehicle
if loan payments become delinquent, even after one missed
payment. Failure to abide by other terms of the contract
may also be grounds for repossession. Creditors may not
use force in seizing the vehicle. The buyer will forfeit
all rights under Maryland Law if the buyer is guilty of
fraudulent conduct, intentionally and wrongfully concealing,
removing, damaging or destroying the vehicle, or attempting
to do so in order to prevent repossession.
Please review the full contract of the loan to determine
under which Maryland law the loan was written. Typically,
a creditor may:
- Issue a Discretionary Notice at least 10 days
prior to repossessing the vehicle to all signers on the
loan by personal delivery or by certified or registered
mail. You are not required to pay any repossession expenses
if the creditor failed to issue you a Discretionary Notice.
- Send a Required Notice to you by registered
or certified mail within 5 days after the repossession
of the vehicle.
- Retain the repossessed vehicle for 15 days allowing
you the opportunity to reinstate the contract.
If your complaint is against a car dealership, please
contact the Maryland
Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) at 410-768-7541 to file a written complaint.
To file a complaint concerning repossession of your vehicle