State offices and all DLLR physical locations will be closed to the public December 24 & December 25, 2014. However, Unemployment Insurance telephone and Web operations WILL be available on Wednesday, December 24.

Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation

 

Mortgage Lender Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

 

General FAQs

  1. Where do I find information about the Mortgage Lender (ML) license application?

Education FAQs

Pre-Licensing Education FAQs

  1. What is pre-licensing education (PE)?
  2. What are the PE requirements for Mortgage Lenders/Brokers and/or Servicers in Maryland?

Continuing Education FAQs

  1. What is continuing education (CE)?
  2. What are the CE requirements for the Maryland Mortgage Lender licensee?

Criminal Background Check FAQs

  1. Does Maryland require both a Federal and a State criminal background (CBC) check?
  2. How do I request my federal criminal background check?
  3. How do I request my Maryland state criminal background check?
  4. What is the cost to request a State criminal background check?
  5. How do I get a copy of my Federal criminal history record or "rap sheet"?
  6. How do I get a copy of my State criminal history record or "rap sheet"?
  7. How do I obtain a copy of my court disposition?

General FAQs

1. Where do I find information about the Mortgage Lender (ML) license application?
Before applying for the ML license, you should view the Maryland license description and licensing requirements as well as the "Getting Started: Companies" pages NMLS Resource Center.

Education FAQs

* For more information regarding SAFE education requirements, visit the NMLS Resource Center > Professional Standards > Education page.

Pre-Licensing Education FAQs

1. What is pre-licensing education (PE)?
The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act) requires at least 20 hours of NMLS approved pre-licensing education ("PE") to be completed prior to the issuance of a AIP-MLO license. This requirement only needs to be completed or certified once, regardless of the number of states in which an originator is licensed. Maryland has required PE for Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs) and Affiliated Insurance Producer-Mortgage Loan Originators (AIP-MLOs) which must be satisfied.

2. What are the PE requirements for Mortgage Lenders/Brokers and/or Servicers in Maryland?
There are no PE education requirements for Mortgage Lender applicants.

Continuing Education FAQs

1. What is continuing education (CE)?
Continuing Education is the education required to be completed prior to the renewal of the ML, MLO, and AIP-MLO licenses. SAFE requires 8 hours of CE to be completed each year prior to renewal. Please see Maryland's required CE for Mortgage Lenders/Brokers for details.

2. What are the CE requirements for the Maryland Mortgage Lender licensee?
Approved continuing education courses may be found on the NMLS Resource Center. Annually, prior to the renewal of the MLO or AIP-MLO license, you must take 8 hours CE. The CE standards are prescribed by Md. Code Ann., Financial Institutions Sec. 11-612 and the SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act and include:

  1. 3 hours of federal law and regulations;
  2. 2 hours of ethics that shall include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues;
  3. 2 hours of training related to lending standards for the nontraditional mortgage product market; and
  4. 1 hour of Maryland instruction on mortgage-related laws.

Criminal Background Check FAQs

* For more information regarding SAFE education requirements, visit the NMLS Resource Center > Professional Standards > Criminal Background Check page.

1. Does Maryland require both a Federal and a State criminal background (CBC) check?
Yes. Maryland requires both a Federal and a State criminal background check. The Federal criminal background check must be requested via NMLS, but the State criminal background CANNOT be requested via NMLS and must be requested separately from the Federal criminal background check.

2. How do I request my federal criminal background check?
NMLS has added functionality that allows MLOs and sponsoring companies to authorize, request, and pay for a federal criminal background check within the system. You can access this functionality by logging into your account on NMLS.

Full information concerning federal criminal background check processing can be found on the NMLS Resource Center > Professional Standards > Criminal Background Check page.

3. How do I request my Maryland state criminal background check?
Visit the Agency's website for further instructions for requesting the Maryland Criminal Background Check.

4. What is the cost to request a State criminal background check?
In addition to the state background check fee, the vendors, other than those within the Motor Vehicle Administration locations, may also charge fingerprint processing fee that ranges from $20 to $25. The total charge for a state criminal background check may range from $38 to $43, depending on vendor.

5. How do I get a copy of my Federal criminal history record or "rap sheet"?
To request a review of your Federal record search the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), click stats & services, then click background checks.

6. How do I get a copy of my State criminal history record or "rap sheet"?
You may request an individual review of your Maryland criminal history record by submitting a full set of fingerprints to CJIS at P.O. Box 32708, Pikesville, Maryland 21282-2708. For more information, you may contact CJIS directly ay 888-795-0011 or 410-764-4501.

7. How do I obtain a copy of my court disposition?
In order to obtain a copy of your court disposition you must contact the court that heard your case (i.e. city, county, state, and/ or federal courts).

 
 Applications and Forms  Industry Advisories  Find Someone Who is Licensed