All of the community colleges in the
State of Maryland are approved to offer real estate appraising
education. You may call any of the community colleges directly
for a schedule of classes. The Commission will also consider
classroom-based and online qualifying education approved
through the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) Course
Approval Program (CAP). You may obtain a list of the
CAP approved courses on their website.
Education approved through the AQB CAP must be consistent with the courses
required by the Commission pursuant to COMAR 09.19.02.03.
Providers will be required to provide curricula for a minimum
requirement for a total of 72 hours in the following areas
(provision of the law under the Business Occupation and
Professions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, §16-3A-03(1)).
You may obtain a list of the educational providers approved
to offer the 72-hour home inspector training program - a
complete listing of approved provider courses.
Legislation became effective on July 1, 2011 giving the Commission the authority to adopt regulations to require a demonstration of
continuing professional competency as a condition of renewal of a license to provide home inspection services. Continuing professional
competency requirements for home inspectors will be phased in at a rate of 50% beginning October 1, 2013. The requirement does not apply to
the first renewal of a home inspector license.
If a home inspector license expires before September 30, 2013, a licensee is not required to fulfill the continuing professional competency
If a home inspector license expires between October 1, 2013 and September 30, 2014, a licensee is required to complete 15 hours of continuing
professional competency education.
If a home inspector license expires on or after October 1, 2014, a licensee is required to complete 30 hours of continuing professional
Educational hours from a continuing professional competency course satisfy the requirement if the course is offered by the following providers:
The American Society of Home Inspectors; The National Association of Home Inspectors; or any other provider approved by the Commission; and the
Commission determines that the course increases the licensee's knowledge of the provision of home inspection services.
You may obtain a list of the educational providers approved to offer
continuing professional competency courses - a complete listing of approved provider courses.
Continuing Education for Real Estate
In order to renew any license or certificate, including a trainee license, a total of 42
hours of appraisal-related continuing education is required, and must include the 7-Hour National
USPAP Update Course or its equivalent. The specific renewal schedule cycle for the 7-Hour National
USPAP Update Course runs from 1/1/10-12/31/11; 1/1/12-12/31/13; and 1/1/14-12/31/15; etc. All appraisers must
take the 7-Hour National USPAP Update Course at least once during each of its publications.
You must complete the 42 hours of continuing prior to submitting your renewal application. The required continuing education must be completed before you file
an application for renewal or reinstatement, regardless of the expiration date on the license, certificate or registration to be renewed.
If you have not fully completed the courses prior to certifying that you have completed them, you may be subject to disciplinary action for falsely representing
that you have met the requirements and qualify for the license, certificate or registration for which you have applied. The results of disciplinary action against
you could include the suspension or revocation of the license, certificate, or registration that you have obtained.
You may obtain a list of the education providers approved to offer appraiser continuing education courses –
a complete listing of approved provider courses.
In addition to the approved list, the Commission recognizes all classroom-based and online continuing education courses approved through
the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) Course Approval Program (CAP).
Each license renewal application is subject to audit by the Commission. Failure to respond to or comply with
an audit may result in disciplinary action. It is the responsibility of each licensee to fulfill the continuing
education requirements and to be able to document, to the Commission's satisfaction, such fulfillment. A licensee
must complete a minimum of 42 hours of continuing education before renewing a license. Acceptable
continuing education hours must be taken between the effective date of the license being renewed and the date on
which the applicant certifies to having completed the prescribed continuing education requirements.
Reinstatement of an Expired License
A real estate appraiser who fails to renew his or her license/certificate during its regular term may reinstate
the license/certificate if the applicant: (1) meets all continuing education and filing requirements; and (2) pays
the Commission a reinstatement fee of $75.00 in addition to the renewal fee required. Prior to reinstatement of a
license/certificate, the licensee must complete all required continuing education hours that would have been
required if the credential holder was in an active status. Applicants for reinstatement owe forty-two (42) hours
of continuing education on the expiration date of the license, and an additional fourteen (14) hours of continuing
education for every year thereafter. The required hours must also include the most recent edition of the 7-Hour
National USPAP Update Course.