The DLLR website will be unavailable from about 8:00 AM ET until about 12:00 PM ET on Saturday, October 4, 2014. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your patience.

DLLR's Division of Labor and Industry

 

Breaks, Benefits and Days Off - The Maryland Guide to Wage Payment and Employment Standards

 
Unless the worker is under 18 years old or is an employee who works in certain retail establishments, there is no law requiring an employer to provide breaks, including lunch breaks. Minors under 18 must receive a 30 minute break for every 5 hours of work. In addition, state law does not guarantee days off for holidays or any special holiday pay for private sector employees, except a religious day of rest each week for retail employees who give prior written notice to their employers. Maryland law does not require the award of benefits. Examples include vacation leave, sick leave, compensatory time, holidays and holiday pay, health and life insurance, bonuses, severance pay, etc. The right to claim benefits only arises through a prior agreement of the parties.

[See also section IV. Z. regarding pay for breaks]

 
 
+